Birthday Boy #SOL21 Day 10/31

I stopped by my daughter’s house for a quick visit the other night. When I arrived the family of four were all sitting at the dinner table. We said our hellos and chatted abut our day together. The conversation was lively but then again isn’t it always lively when there are two preschoolers sitting at the table? The kids finished their dinners and we all got up lto head into the living room to play for a while. As I walked away Sam turned to me and said

Hey Bebe, I didn’t give you a hug yet!

He ran into my arms, wrapped his arms around my neck and squeezed me so tight I nearly tipped over!

I love you Bebe!

Thank you Sam. I needed that! As a matter of fact I always need hugs like that from you Sam.

Happy Birthday Sam! Today you are three! May you continue to always know when I need a big hug and a few sweet words.

Throughout the month of March I will be participating in the Slice of Life Story Challenge with the community of writers over at Two Writing Teachers. Each day I will post a draft of a story detailing a small snippet from my life. This will be my sixth year participating, and each year I marvel at all the small moments I would have missed in my life if not for this challenge. I am grateful to Stacey Shubitz, Betsy Hubbard, Beth Moore, Kathleen Neagle Sokolowski, Melanie Meehan, and Amy Ellerman for hosting this wonderful event!

4 Replies to “Birthday Boy #SOL21 Day 10/31”

  1. This is beautiful. My babies aren’t babies anymore and I don’t yet have any grandchildren. This is a special moment you’ve captured here! Outstretched arms and sweet little words…I can just see it.

Leave a comment