A Million Dollar View #SOL21 Day 12/31

The plumber got me thinking

when he stopped to fix a pipe

” You’ve got a million dollar view”

“Yes, I do. Indeed I know. It is in fact one beautiful site.”

With soaring eagles

that dive and swoop

scaring away seagulls in its path.

With geese galore

honking day and night

waking light sleepers at four a.m.

With majestic swan

their long necks entwined

whistling as they take to the skies.

With common mallards

with shiny green necks

nibbling grasses near water’s edge.

With rippling waters

that catch the sun

casting diamonds upon its shores.

With crescent moon

seen from my bed

hanging bright in the morning light.

A million dollar view

my plumber’s right

Hoping and praying I will never forget.

Throughout the month of March I will be participating in the Slice of Life Story Challenge with the community of writers over at Two Writing Teachers. Each day I will post a draft of a story detailing a small snippet from my life. This will be my sixth year participating, and each year I marvel at all the small moments I would have missed in my life if not for this challenge. I am grateful to Stacey Shubitz, Betsy Hubbard, Beth Moore, Kathleen Neagle Sokolowski, Melanie Meehan, and Amy Ellerman for hosting this wonderful event!

10 Replies to “A Million Dollar View #SOL21 Day 12/31”

  1. Your plumber is right. It looks like you have an amazing view on a lake. You must not be far from the ocean either if you have seagulls nearby. It sounds like the perfect location.

Leave a comment