Sunglasses Don’t Float #SOL19 Day 23/31

I am once again participating in the Slice of Life Story Challenge for the month of March.  This is the fourth year I have joined the community of writers over at Two Writing Teachers in taking up this challenge of writing for 31 consecutive days.  I know it will be hard work but the growth will be immeasurable. Follow along!

Sunglasses Don’t Float

I wonder if I’ll uncover my sunglasses after all this time?

I was thinking back to last summer and the first day on my paddle board, while I was raking the leaves off of the exposed lake bottom.

It was a beautiful Friday in late spring and the weather had finally turned warm enough to try out the two paddle boards I had just bought. I was thrilled to finally get on so I quickly changed into my bathing suit and ran down to the waters edge. I thought about grabbing my sunglasses band, but quickly told myself I wouldn’t need it. Being the first swimming day of the year there were several of us hanging around enjoying the sunshine and eager to get on the boards and paddle around. I tooled around in a sitting position for a while to get used to the paddle and the temperature of the water.  I was starting to feel comfortable so I decided to try standing up.  Slowly I moved into position and wobbled slightly.  The crowd jeered and laughed. I steadied myself quickly and then splash, I fell into the water.  I lifted my head from the water only to be greeted with chuckles and screams: “Grab your glasses! Quick, they are right there!”  I turned around and saw them sinking into the water I had just stirred up, now murky from my fall, gone and out of sight.  Several missions with goggles ensued, but we were never successful in recovering those glasses.

A year later I stood there at the sandy bottom of the lake with rake in hand and still chuckling over that first fall. And still hoping Id uncover them. But no luck. Oh well, at least now I learned my lesson to always wear a band for your glasses because sunglasses don’t float.

10 Replies to “Sunglasses Don’t Float #SOL19 Day 23/31”

  1. I was right there with you in my mind. I could see the whole thing play out a you described each moment so well. I can relate, too, as I lost my prescription glasses in the Atlantic Ocean last summer! That was an expensive “duh” moment!

  2. This is a perfect small moment – something my students still seem to drag out into a day! Would you mind if I shared this with them?

  3. I’ve made many decisions similar to yours and after the fact I always ask why? How long would it have taken to run inside and get the sunglass band? It’s always after the fact I ask myself why? I never learn though. I guess it’s called living in the moment and not wanting to miss even a second of fun or opportunity. Thanks for sharing.

  4. This is a great snapshot to share with kids: Slowly I moved into position and wobbled slightly. The crowd jeered and laughed. I steadied myself quickly and then splash, I fell into the water. I lifted my head from the water only to be greeted with chuckles and screams: “Grab your glasses! Quick, they are right there!” I turned around and saw them sinking into the water I had just stirred up, now murky from my fall, gone and out of sight. Several missions with goggles ensued, but we were never successful in recovering those glasses.
    Perfect balance of action, dialogue, and feeling. Well done! Sorry about your glasses.

Leave a comment