Writing with Joy #SOL20 Day 13/31

Writing with Joy

Quick, quick. Look at those two writing at the table! I’m so excited!

The teacher was beaming with pride, excited that two of her students were sitting side by side writing a review.

Neither of them has been able to write anything so I decided to let them write their review together.

I looked across the room and noticed two boys chatting and writing, chatting and writing. When I approached them, they animatedly shared with me that they were writing a review. I stepped back to watch, making the decision not to interrupt the flow and the joy. They continued talking about each part and then adding writing to their own pieces. It was like watching a well oiled machine.

I looked across the room and caught the teacher’s eye. She was beaming with joy and pride. She had found a way to engage her two students and was excited to share the news with me. I am not sure whose smile was the largest, the boys or the teacher’s. But does that really matter when all are learning and engaged in joyful writing?

I am excited to be writing daily in the March Slice of Life Challenge as hosted by Two Writing Teachers. This marks the fifth year I have participated in the 31 day challenge, writing and sharing a blog post each day.  I look forward to the growth in noticing the small moments in my life and capturing them on my blog.  I know I will be a better teacher of writers because of this work. 

8 Replies to “Writing with Joy #SOL20 Day 13/31”

  1. Such a joyful writing celebration. I understand the need to hold the breath and not distract the young writers.

Leave a comment