Escape #SOL20 Day 12/31

Escape

I spent the evening working on a few projects that required focus and attention that I haven’t had the time for during the day. As I closed my laptop and turned in to the president I felt drained from the work and news. I needed an escape.

It was then that I found a sketch I made while in Florida for the 100 day notebooking challenge. For a moment I was back in the warm sun soaking up sunshine with little to care about but putting on more sunscreen! (A necessity with my Irish skin)

Florida – take me away!

I am excited to be writing daily in the March Slice of Life Challenge as hosted by Two Writing Teachers. This marks the fifth year I have participated in the 31 day challenge, writing and sharing a blog post each day.  I look forward to the growth in noticing the small moments in my life and capturing them on my blog.  I know I will be a better teacher of writers because of this work. 

9 Replies to “Escape #SOL20 Day 12/31”

  1. The words in that notebook evoke such wonderful, relaxing imagery. Love the idea of a note-booking challenge- how cool is that? Thanks for sharing some of your artistry with us!

    1. Unfortunately I had to make a decision to either notebook or slice. I wish I could do both! Either way the notebook challenge was fun – I’ll pick it back up now that I am not in school for a while. Thank you for the artist compliment

  2. You are a wonderful artist. I once attended a PTA conference in NYC with an artist friend of mine at the time and we stayed in a hotel for one night. Before she went to bed she pulled out her notebook. She did a quick watercolor sketch and wrote a little something. She said she did it every night. I was so impressed. I think I’ll start sketching more. Thank you for the inspiration.

  3. Your vacation served double duty because you captured it in your notebook! That’s one of the things I love about writing. Writing about things helps me remember them as well as process them, and rereading what I’ve written takes me right back to the moment. I’m glad that respite was waiting in your notebook when you needed it. Love your palm tree!

Leave a comment