Forsythia #SOL20 Day 15/31

Forsythia

I went for a walk with my grandchildren yesterday. We enjoyed the time outside choosing our hiking sticks, watching for trail markers, and discovering the first blooms of the seasons on a wild forsythia bush near the end of our trail. I love forsythias! Their bright yellow blooms have graced our home on late winter days, the warmth of our home forcing the yellow buds to open.

My mother started us on this tradition when I was a young girl, and since then I too have tried to remember to snip those branches and place them in a vase of warm water to enjoy a bit of early spring when the weather outside is less than spring like.

So yesterday I started my grandsons on the same tradition. We picked a few branches and they carried them home to watch the miracle of nature happen before their eyes. I hope I am starting another generation of nature watchers and outdoor lovers, starting with a few yellow blooms.

 

I am excited to be writing daily in the March Slice of Life Challenge as hosted by Two Writing Teachers. This marks the fifth year I have participated in the 31 day challenge, writing and sharing a blog post each day.  I look forward to the growth in noticing the small moments in my life and capturing them on my blog.  I know I will be a better teacher of writers because of this work. 

6 Replies to “Forsythia #SOL20 Day 15/31”

  1. What a special tradition to begin with your grandchildren! I love it. Things are poking up all over Denver this weekend. I saw my first daffodil yesterday. I’m rejoicing in the coming of spring.

  2. I love your idea! As I clean up the house from our Saturday collapse from school frenzy, I am going to bring in some forsythias! Thank you! What better than to bring in the Spring?
    Perfect timing for a great, uplifting slice.
    Thank you!

Leave a comment