Goose vs Duck #SOL21 Day 26/31

Goose vs. Duck

They got their brave shoes on

for the first time this year

wobbling out of the water

white and black necks

stretching over the steps

to peer across the green expanse

only to be greeted by my

shoos, claps, and shouts of GO AWAY!

Five minutes later

waddling across the sands

bobbing brown and green heads

as they make their way

towards a green lunch

they stare and look

I rise and greet

with pictures and words of

Oh how sweet!

Now shouldn’t someone cry foul – or fowl?

Throughout the month of March I will be participating in the Slice of Life Story Challenge with the community of writers over at Two Writing Teachers. Each day I will post a draft of a story detailing a small snippet from my life. This will be my sixth year participating, and each year I marvel at all the small moments I would have missed in my life if not for this challenge. I am grateful to Stacey Shubitz, Betsy Hubbard, Beth Moore, Kathleen Neagle Sokolowski, Melanie Meehan, and Amy Ellerman for hosting this wonderful event!

9 Replies to “Goose vs Duck #SOL21 Day 26/31”

    1. Thanks Christie. I definitely discriminate among the birds. My gate to keep the geese away will need to be put up this week! Scooping droppings is not my thing!

  1. It is always fun to read about ducks! I liked your line “to peer across the green expanse”. I went to the blog for inspiration to write, and I read your post feeling inspired! Thank you.

  2. Oh the geese…they are pests. I like how you wrote they got their brave shoes on and how they wobbled out of the water only to be greeted by GO AWAY. It actually made me laugh wondering what, if, the geese would say back.

Leave a comment