My Papa Dave #SOL19 Day 17/31

I am once again participating in the Slice of Life Story Challenge for the month of March.  This is the fourth year I have joined the community of writers over at Two Writing Teachers in taking up this challenge of writing for 31 consecutive days.  I know it will be hard work but the growth will be immeasurable. Follow along!

My Papa Dave

Three years ago I became a grandmother. It was a bittersweet time seeing my son holding his newborn daughter yet knowing this little baby would never experience the love of her grandfather, my husband. We did however make the decision to keep him alive in our memories. We affectionately chose a name for him, Papa Dave, and talked lovingly about him to my now four grandchildren when looking at pictures.

Yesterday I had my grandson over for a little visit. We had fun playing and working around the yard and in the house. G found the Christmas photo album on a shelf and began exploring the pictures it held. “Who’s that?” G said. “Oh, that’s mommy when she was a baby.” He’d look at me with a strange look and then ask again “Who’s that?” “Oh that’s Uncle Jonnie and Auntie Sarah when they were little.” Again the confused look. Finally he pointed to a picture of me and my husband Dave. “Who’s that?” G. asked. To which I responded “Oh, that’s Bebe (my grandma name) and Papa Dave.” G looked at me in the eye and said. “He’s MY Papa Dave.” To which I responded “yes he is your Papa Dave, but he’s my Papa Dave too.” Nothing further was said so I assumed he accepted that we all loved Papa Dave.

Later in the day I received a text from my daughter Julie. She was telling me about a conversation she just had with her son G. She said to G. “I love you so much, and I love your brother S. so much, and I love daddy so much. Who do you love so much?” And G replied. “I love Papa Dave so much!”

This teary-eyed slicer is thinking we’ve been successful at keeping Papa Dave alive in G’s heart.

18 Replies to “My Papa Dave #SOL19 Day 17/31”

  1. I’m so glad you did press publish. Yes, I would say that you have kept Papa Dave alive in G’s heart. Have to admire how he stayed intent on getting the answers to his questions and internalized the answers. Good for all of you to keep him alive in your memories!

    1. Thanks Melanie. A bittersweet story for sure. And yes we are trying to keep Papa Dave’s memory alive for our grandchildren and us too. Thank you for your kind words

  2. This brings tears to my eyes. My dad only met his two oldest granddaughters. When they were two and just born. They are now 18 and 16. Thank you for the remembrance of our special Papa memories.

  3. Oh, Christine – this is so beautiful and heartfelt. I love how you captured his unrelenting questioning to get to what mattered to him which in turn would matter to you all. Sending hugs your way today!

  4. What a wonderful moment you’ve captured here. And how great that you’ve kept your husband’s memory alive for your grandchildren. Your story is much like mine… my dad died just after my first child was born. This year for Christmas (my children are now 20 and 22) my mother gave my daughters a collection of things having to do with my dad. It was the most wonderful gift.

  5. Oh my word, what a beautiful slice. We can only hope that when we are gone we will be remembered so lovingly and kept in the hearts of so many the way you have done for your husband. Not even death can sever a bond or diminish a love-your family is proof of that. Sending you out a hug today! Thanks for your light and love!

  6. What a beautiful post! I love how you keep Papa Dave alive for your grandchildren and in doing so he is still here for all of you. The conversation with G is precious. Just lovely all the way around.

Leave a comment