The Stage #SOL20 Day 2/31

The Frozen II music was on in the background when G picked up the guitar and M was handed the mike (AKA a duster). The cousins belted out the tunes together and giggled between each stanza, their joy in the music and fun clearly evident. They knew the words and the moves and they danced across the stage of the fireplace. They got a little silly as they created their own verses to Down by the Bay. Did you ever see a fox wearing a clocks? This grandmother / teacher was impressed with her three and four year old grandchildren’s great rhyming skills.

As I sat in awe of those abilities, I drifted back in time to some 30 years prior, to the days of my own three children in the same house. They too used the fireplace hearth as their stage to perform plays, musicals, and all sorts of shenanigans. And now my baby’s babies are mirroring the joy of music and theater. Having a second generation of Baldigas owning this house and embracing the joy of performing brings feelings of pride and bliss. Watching my two oldest grandchildren dance across that same stage warms my heart too! Actually, almost everything my grandchildren do warms my heart!

 

I am excited to be writing daily in the March Slice of Life Challenge as hosted by Two Writing Teachers. This marks the fifth year I have participated in the 31 day challenge, writing and sharing a blog post each day.  I look forward to the growth in noticing the small moments in my life and capturing them on my blog.  I know I will be a better teacher of writers because of this work. 

5 Replies to “The Stage #SOL20 Day 2/31”

  1. Love your story and the painting! Our hearth was also a stage or a bench. More people chose to sit on the hearth when visiting than a chair. Of course, in Texas there were very few fires, so it was always clean! 🙂

Leave a comment