Zoom Fun #SOL20 Day 25/31

Zoom Fun

I’m gonna zoom, zoom, zooma, zoom. I’m gonna zooma, zooma, zooma, zooma, zoom.

That’s the catchy tune that pops into my head anytime someone mentions joining a zoom meeting. It’s the theme song from a PBS show originally from 1972, and then again in 1999, focused on kids issues and of course loads of laughter. I loved the show!

For the most part my current zoom meetings have been reserved for checking in with delivery of news or questions being answered. They have been filled with to do’s and next steps. Yes I have been able to see my colleagues face to face, but they lacked that connection we all crave. Until yesterday when my last zoom meeting was side tracked with tips on how to play around with zoom.

Thanks to some slicer friends I discovered I can “like” a response while someone is talking and I am muted. I learned if I am the host I have a slew of choices to make prior to entering the chat. Most importantly I discovered that I can change the background of my basement office so it appears I have escaped to some tropical island.

So thank you slicer / zoom friends for that little bit of zoom fun and learning! Once again I am singing the Zoom theme song!

I’m gonna zoom, zoom, zooma, zoom. I’m gonna zooma, zooma, zooma, zooma, zoom.

I am excited to be writing daily in the March Slice of Life Challenge as hosted by Two Writing Teachers. This marks the fifth year I have participated in the 31 day challenge, writing and sharing a blog post each day.  I look forward to the growth in noticing the small moments in my life and capturing them on my blog.  I know I will be a better teacher of writers because of this work. 

18 Replies to “Zoom Fun #SOL20 Day 25/31”

  1. You brought a smile to my face with that song memory! My children loved the second incarnation of Zoom as much as I loved the first. We’re gonna zoom zoom zooma zoom!!

  2. I am new to Zoom and am using it for my grad class, meetings with my reading chapter, PAReads editor meetings, and meetings with my colleagues on the manuscript we are composing. I am often, though not always, the host. I did not know you had a lot of choices about the chat. I will have to explore. I had a meeting through google hangout the other day. I must say it seems like we all are getting lots of practice! Thanks for this!

  3. I haven’t had my first Zoom meeting…yet. Google meets has been our means! But that Zoom, theme song is out there! I’ve see clips and they, like your slice, brought me back to the show!

Leave a comment