Quiet #SOL20 Day 31/31

Quiet

I needed to sit with this book again this morning after learning of his passing. It is a book that captures the essence of what we need right now. Quiet.

The book reminds me to sit and look out into the world, untethered from devices. To pause and be with the dragonflies and birds. To listen and enjoy the presence of another’s company. Quiet.

To listen to the words whispering into my soul by a greater being. To pause and consider all my blessings. Quiet.

To embrace my talents and consider using them to build up the world. To take time to paint, create, laugh, smile, enjoy life. Quiet.

Thank you Tomie. For filling my life with peace, joy, and laughter through your books: Strega Nona, La Bafana, The Legend of the Poinsettia, Pancakes for Breakfast, The Art Lesson, Nana Upstairs & Nana Downstairs, and especially Quiet.

Bonus Feature: An inspiring video about Tomie on writing Quiet

 

I accomplished the challenge and wrote daily in the March Slice of Life Challenge as hosted by Two Writing Teachers. This marks the fifth year I have completed the 31 day challenge, writing and sharing a blog post each day. Not only did I grow as a writer but I also captured my thoughts and feelings during these ever changing times. I will miss this writing community, and know that I will be back every Tuesday!

8 Replies to “Quiet #SOL20 Day 31/31”

  1. So glad you left this tribute. The world has lost a quiet soul who shared wonderful stories with us. Thank goodness his gift was words. We are much enriched. Thank you for writing. Take care!

  2. I was so sad to hear of his death yesterday. What a loss. I love this line of yours: “Thank you Tomie. For filling my life with peace, joy, and laughter through your books”. Your whole tribute was beautiful.

  3. Christine, I love this tribute to Tomie. I, too, love his books and his wonderfully open manner with teachers and kids. We have learned so much from him and have lots to be grateful for.

Leave a comment