The Family that Crafts Together… #SOL20 Day 7/31

We gathered on Friday night at 5:30

6 siblings, 1 spouse, and 1 child

all artists with an entry in the event

known as The Art Palette Contest.

It was opening night

with wine and cheese, and laughter for sure.

We ooohed and aaahed at our individual works

so unique, so lovely, so delightful

each reflecting our own styles and talents.

We sipped our wine and ate our cheese

and voted for our favorites.

We posed for a picture or two,

celebrating the bonds we cherish

and the talents that binds us.

And what does the family that crafts together do after the opening?

Well, of course they

Eat pizza,

play darts,

and sing karaoke together!

My entry – trying my hand at landscape painting
Gathering as a family and showing off our individual palettes

 

I am excited to be writing daily in the March Slice of Life Challenge as hosted by Two Writing Teachers. This marks the fifth year I have participated in the 31 day challenge, writing and sharing a blog post each day.  I look forward to the growth in noticing the small moments in my life and capturing them on my blog.  I know I will be a better teacher of writers because of this work. 

5 Replies to “The Family that Crafts Together… #SOL20 Day 7/31”

  1. Love this — so important to remember that families that do things together stay together. Also, thank you for your kind words on my poem. It is a young adult in my community. So sad when a young life is lost.

  2. I love this line: “celebrating the bonds we cherishand the talents that binds us.” What a wonderful gift that you all share and how incredible that you can be there to enjoy and celebrate it together. Congratulations!

Leave a comment