Woodland Fairy Houses #SOL20 Day 28/31

Woodland Fairy Houses

The wooded path that hugs the lakeside shore has been transformed. It started a week ago when my neighbor left a few fairy garden houses on the edge of the trail. She had crafted several houses and accessories using natural materials over the winter for her grandchildren to enjoy, and thought this was as good a time as ever to let the neighbors delight in them too.

Since she placed the initial moss covered home with nearby teeny-tiny fireplace, the trail has been dotted with additional abodes. Neighborhood children are using their at home learning time to paint little rocks with words like hope and peace and placing them carefully at the base of the tree trunk. These little touches gracing the trail have added a touch of whimsy to my daily walk.

My grandsons are now enjoying the walks to see the new woodland fairy sights. They marvel at the details and look ever so carefully with the hopes of seeing a woodland fairy peeking out behind the bark table. They know that fairies are shy and won’t come out of hiding if they hear you nearby. They tip toe through the woods and keep their hands from touching the structures, an amazing feat for busy two and three year old hands.

Creativity and imagination have come alive again in our woods. The neighborhood buzzes with chatter about the excitement in the children making and viewing these creations. I marvel at the original designs and stand in hope that this new love for being outside and the creative spirit live on long past the pandemic.

Shells and leaves make for wonderful accessories
Rock lined path lead into a fairy home with pine needle floor

I am excited to be writing daily in the March Slice of Life Challenge as hosted by Two Writing Teachers. This marks the fifth year I have participated in the 31 day challenge, writing and sharing a blog post each day.  I look forward to the growth in noticing the small moments in my life and capturing them on my blog.  I know I will be a better teacher of writers because of this work. 

4 Replies to “Woodland Fairy Houses #SOL20 Day 28/31”

  1. What a special neighbor to bring a bit of joy to everyone. I’d be anxious to walk everyday just to see what was new. 🙂 Will you or your grandsons make one, too?

  2. I love this idea, using things from nature reminds us we don’t need fancy expensive things to be joyful. I’m wondering how I can do this along our side walk.

Leave a comment